The Museum of the Municipality of Bucharest (Sutu Palace)

The Sutu Palace is one of the oldest aristocratic residences in Bucharest and one of the few buildings that have remained unchanged for over 150 years. It was built by Costache Suţu according to the plans of architects Conrad Schwenk and Johann Veit between 1833 and 1835.

The interior of the palace was designed in 1862 by Karl Storck, a renowned sculptor and decorative artist. The access staircase was arranged on the floor, monumentally divided into two arms, and the problem of perspective was opened by mounting in the front wall a mirror brought from Murano and caught in a beautiful frame. Above the mirror is the carved wooden medallion of Irina Suţu, the owner's wife.

The history of the Museum of the Municipality of Bucharest has a heritage of over 400,000 objects whose diversified typology captures the profile of the settlement over the centuries, from prehistoric eras to the present, attesting facts, events, and portraits of famous personalities from Bucharest.

It has a heritage whose diversified typology captures the profile of the settlement over the centuries, from prehistoric eras to the present, attesting facts, events, portraits of personalities that give content to the city's memory.

It was a private residence until the beginning of the 20th century. Suţu Palace became the new headquarters of the Bucharest Municipal Museum starting with 1956. Restored between 1956 and 1958, the palace opens to the public on January 23, 1959. Since then it hosts exhibitions related to the history of Bucharest, exploiting an exceptional heritage from research. archaeological, donations and acquisitions made with funds provided year by year by the Bucharest City Hall.

The Palace’s main exhibition was redone and was reopened on May 15th, 2015. The new permanent exhibition, called “Time of the City”, aims to help visitors delve into a story-driven journey through the city’s history.
Starting with a unique piece found within the Palace – the backwards running clock, fabricated by the Collin House of Paris, a clock that requires people to view its mirrored reflection in order to tell time – the “Time of the City” exhibition is a journey that begins in the present and heads back in time, towards the past.

Visiting hours:

  • Wednesday - Sunday, 10.00 am - 5.30 pm (last entry)

Ticket prices:

Adults – 10 lei – 2,09 euro
Students, pensioners, students, military, organized groups – 5 lei - 1, 04 euro;
Temporary exhibitions - 5 lei - 1,04 euro;
Temporary exhibitions, with discount - for students, pensioners, students, military, organized groups – 2 lei - 0,41 euro;

Get directions

TOP