The Bucharest Arch of Triumph (Arcul de Triumf) is open for visitors from June 10 to October 29. The City Mayor announced this on Friday.
It is already a tradition for the Arch of Triumph to welcome visitors during summer and autumn; this year is no exception. The arch will be open to visitors from 14.00 to 21.00 Saturdays and Sundays. Hopefully, this Bucharest attraction will persuade thousands of tourists and locals to try and experience the views over the cities from the Arch of Triumph.
The monument, named Arcul de Triumf by the locals, built between 1921 and 1922 following the project of the architect Petre Antonescu, is a symbol of Romania’s victory in the First World War. The tower also symbolically links Bucharest to old Rome – the civilization that imposed the Arch of Triumph as a symbol of victory.
The Arch of Triumph means more than the victory in the First World War; it is considered the sign of the unity of all Romanians.
The story of the Arch of Triumph from Bucharest begins in 1922, four years after the Great Union when the authorities decided to organize a grand parade to celebrate the event. For this purpose, they built a temporary Arch of Triumph made of wood, intended to replace the similar construction built in 1918.
However, the wooden arch soon disintegrated as it was built in wood. In 1922, a second arch was built on the site of the first one in 1922 following WWI. This arch, too, was demolished in 1935 to make way for a grander, more solid Arch of Triumph.
Whether you are an international tourist or an expat living in Bucharest, the Arch of Triumph is open to be visited starting this Saturday, June 10, from 14.00. Be there 🙂